After The Eclipse by Fran Dorricott

The sun has gone and so have the girls..

I found After The Eclipse to be quite a sad but compelling read. Cassie is supposed to be watching her little sister Olive but during the excitement of the upcoming eclipse and getting lost in her own drama she’s loses sight of her and never sees Olive again. Sixteen years later Cassie, now a journalist, moves back to the little town of Bishops Green to take care of her Grandmother when another girl goes missing just before an eclipse.

Is it just coincidence or is this somehow linked to Olives disappearance? Cassie has to investigate and find out if she is making connections because she so badly needs one or if this really is a lead.

“A stunning psychological thriller about loss, sisterhood, and the evil that men do, for readers of Ruth Ware and S.K. Tremeyne
Two solar eclipses. Two missing girls.
Sixteen years ago a little girl was abducted during the darkness of a solar eclipse while her older sister Cassie was supposed to be watching her. She was never seen again. When a local girl goes missing just before the next big eclipse, Cassie – who has returned to her home town to care for her ailing grandmother – suspects the disappearance is connected to her sister: that whoever took Olive is still out there. But she needs to find a way to prove it, and time is running out.”

I like Cassie, she’s a bit of a mess but after all she’s been through can you really blame her? I like how the story is told, we get glimpses into the last so that as the story progresses we can build a better picture of what happens all those years ago.

I have an 11 year old girl and as much of the story focuses on 11 year old girls been taken I found that quite tough going. It was a little shock to be system, even though I know this story is fiction, but to know that there have been real cases of girls that age going missing I guess it just hit close to home. It didn’t put me off though if anything it just made it more real. It is really quite an emotive read but one you won’t want to put down. I highly recommend it.

Many thanks to Sarah at Titan Books for sending me a copy to read and review, all opinions are my own and I am not paid to give them.

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “After The Eclipse by Fran Dorricott

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s