The Wolf Children by Cay Rademacher

“The dead boy’s blood coated the five hundred pound British bomb like a red veil.”


You just know the book is going to be a good read when its first sentence is as intense as that! The Wolf Children by Cay Rademacher is the second book in the Inspector Frank Stave detective series, following The Murderer in Ruins.

Author Cay Rademacher was born in Germany in 1965 and studied Anglo-American history, ancient history and philosophy in Cologne and Washington. He really brings the story alive by amplifying the extremes of the time, extreme weather, extreme lack of food and water, extreme curfew to name but a few.

Originally published in German it has been translated to English by award wining British journalist, author and translator Peter Millar.

HAMBURG 1947: IT IS THE YEAR OF EXTREMES

“After a bitterly cold winter of starvation, the bombed city groans under excruciating heat. And Chief Inspector Frank Stave is confronted with a new case.

In the ruins of a shipyard, the corpse of a boy is found and Stave’s hunt for the killer leads him into the world of ‘wolf children’ – orphaned children who have fled from the Occupied Eastern Territories and are now united in gangs.

When two more bodies are discovered Stave is under ever-increasing pressure as he struggles to keep his personal life together too…”

I was interested in reading this book because it’s something different to all the fantasy and ya I’ve been reading lately, I wasn’t sure if I would like it or not as it is historical fiction set back in 1947 Hamburg Germany a time that honestly I know very little about. I have the vaguest knowledge of the world war/Hitler, and have even less knowledge about the aftermath. With The Wolf Children I not only learned some history about the war and the time after it but I also had a great detective story to solve, it left me wanting to learn more about Chief Inspector Frank Stave and his British friend Lieutenant James McDonald and so I am hoping there will be a third book. I will definitely be reading book one The Murderer in Ruins. I have given this book 5 stars because I enjoyed reading it, would read again and recommend to a friend.

The Wolf Children will be available from the 15th March, in the meantime you can find The Murderer in Ruins on amazon and it’s also available for free for Kindle Unlimited subscribers.

(Disclaimer: All opinions are my own and I am not paid to give them. I kindly received this book for consideration.)

Leave a Reply

