Fierce Female Authors

Hello there, as it is International  Women’s Day I wanted to share with you some of the female authors whose books have made an impact on me in the last year, in no particular order and following up with some honourable mentions.

  • V.E./Victoria Schwab
  • Sarah J. Maas
  • Maggie Stiefvater
  • Katerina Diamond
  • J.K. Rowling

V.E./Victoria Schwab I had previously read This Savage Song a book about monsters and humans and I loved her style of writing so when I saw everyone talking about her Darker Shades of Magic series I just had to read them and fell in love with Lila and her feisty stubborn spirit, luckily I didn’t have to wait too long for the last book in the series A Conjuring of Light and I wasn’t disappointed, I was emotionally torn apart but I loved it!! I’m patiently waiting the follow-up to This Savage Song, Our Savage Duet, which comes out this year. I also have Vicious on my tbr.

Sarah J. Maas aka The Queen oh what that woman can’t do, her beauty and the beast retelling with faeries and a badass female (A Court of Thorns and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury) are just amazing! They are down as young adult but personally I feel the content is more inline with new adult. The wait for the third book is killing me I have it preordered on my kindle and physical! I also have all the books (so far) in her Throne of Glass series on my shelf waiting to be read.

Maggie Stiefvater and her Raven Boys captured my heart, spirit, imagination and invaded my dreams. I borrowed the first book from the library over Christmas and it pulled me in so much I had to buy the other 3 books on my kindle and read them all straight away. Her stories of adventure, friendship, love, life and death are ones everyone should read. I picked up one of her other series The Wolves of Mercy Falls and I’m looking forward to reading that.

Katerina Diamond appeals to my dark side, her crime books following DS Imogen Grey are quite dark and disturbing, The Teacher blew me away and the highly anticipated The Secret was a great follow-up. Katerina not only writes awesome books but she interacts with her followers regularly and loves a good gif! Looking forward to seeing what she has coming up next.

She needs no introduction, the one who inspires us all J.K. Rowling has had the biggest impact on me in my life as a reader, I have grown up with her books and they mean so much to me, even now my daughters who love the movies are interested and excited about the Harry Potter books, she will continue to inspire generations to read for a long long time. Her latest work Fantastic Beasts has only proven that her creativity continues to flourish, I want to be her when I grow up!

Some honourable mentions of female readers whose books I enjoyed:

  • Kendare Blake Three Dark Crowns
  • Lauren Kate The Fallen Series
  • Veronica Roth The Divergent Series
  • Cassandra Clare The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices, Lady Midnight

These are just some of the fierce females I have come across and loved I know there are many more.

Name some female authors you love and admire..

3 thoughts on “Fierce Female Authors

    1. Aw yay 😁 I have Rebecca sitting there waiting to be read I’ve heard so many good things, Karin Slaughter great choice I’ve read some of her older books must check out her newer ones 👌🏻😄

      Like

Leave a Reply

