Throwback Thursday – Thirty Seconds to Mars The Kill

Released back in 2006 The Kill (Bury Me) by Thirty Seconds to Mars is still as relevant today as it was then, it’s one of those songs that just sticks with you and as soon as you hear those first words it pulls at your insides..

“What if I wanted to break, Laugh it all off in your face

What would you do?

What if I fell to the floor, Couldn’t take all this anymore

What would you do?”

The Kill was the 2nd single released from their 2nd album A Beautiful Lie and is, in my opinion, one of their most standout memorable songs.

The song is about the relationship a person has with themself, confronting their fear and the truth about who they are.. “I tried to be someone else, But nothing seemed to change, I know now this is who I really am inside.”

The lyrics have always stuck with me, growing up its always a struggling trying to figure out who you are and who you want to be, we all go through times were we change ourselves to suit others but eventually you realise that the only way to be happy is to just be yourself. “Finally found myself, Fighting for a chance. I know now, this is who I really am.”

Another awesome thing to note is the music video which pays homage to the 1980 film The Shining based on the Stephen King novel, and sees Leto looking his emo best which makes my little emo heart happy.

I hope you enjoyed this post, I’m busy building up a Throwback Thursday playlist and hope to share a different one each week.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

