Goodreads Challenge Update

Back in April I posted an update on my challenge to read 50 books this year, back then I had only read 7 and was coming to the end of an 8th book. This time round I am 43 books down and only 7 left to go!

I have completed 86% of my challenge so far and I’m determined to get to 100%. It hasn’t been without its ups and downs, some months I read more than others, some weeks I didn’t read at all but then I could binge read a few books in a week and catch up again.

I have a small breakdown on what I read :

  • 19 books on Kindle
  • 2 graphic novels
  • 1 play script
  • A few short stories
  • Mostly YA some thrillers
  • Entered at least 6 series
  • The rest was paper or hardback

I have really enjoyed connecting with my books again, I’ve discovered that I have a preference for fantasy, supernatural, mostly YA, anything that takes me to another world/dimension or opens up the world to more possibilities has been a winner with me. It became quite obvious that I was back to my old standard of reading and collecting books when I had to invest in a new bookshelf as I had run out of space!

The highlights for me have been discovering new authors with a style that I love, stories that pulled me right in and gave me total book hangovers leaving me reeling, 3 of the books have left me waiting patiently (pulling my hair out) for follow-up books and 1 of them made me dive straight into the rest of the series.

  • Nevernight by Jay Kristoff
  • The Call by Peadar O’Guilin
  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
  • Fallen by Lauren Kate

If you haven’t read any of these books I highly suggest that you do, especially if you enjoy books with a supernatural element, angels, fairies life or death situations and love.

I haven’t posted much in the last month as things were so busy here getting settled with back to school and work, I’ll do a joint September/October roundup. I’m hoping to get some new reviews up soon and I will be adding an entertainment section to the blog covering tv/movies/music.

Hopefully you’ll have noticed that I have given the blog an overhaul, changed the theme and made it all look a bit neater, my blog is and always has been a reflection of me and what I’m doing/thinking/feeling so it is ever-changing and evolving. Thanks for reading if you have any questions on the books mentioned pop them in the comments or get in touch on twitter!

2 thoughts on “Goodreads Challenge Update

Leave a Reply

