Nevernight by Jay Kristoff


Before I tell you about this book there are 3 things I want you to know:

  1. If bad language offends you, this book is not for you.
  2. If murder, blood and death are not to your taste, this book is not for you.
  3. If fantasy and impressively detailed imagery are not your thing, this book is not for you.

Still here?

This book comes with a warning,

“Be advised the pages in your hands speak of a girl who was to murder as maestros are to music.

A girl called Pale Daughter. Or Kingmaker. Or Crow.

A killer of killers, whose tally of endings only the goddess and I truly know.”

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff follows the story of Mia Corvere in a world where 3 suns dominate the sky and night only comes every 2 and a half years. At only 10 years old she learns her first lesson in death. Raised in the shadows her Mother’s words stay with her “Never Flinch. Never Fear. Never Forget.” when 6 years later she takes her first steps towards keeping the promise she made on the day she lost everything. She finds her way to the Red Church, a school like no other, one where she must prove herself against the deadliest of friends and enemies, and survive the tutelage of murders, liars and daemons at the heart of a murder cult. Mia is no ordinary student. The shadows love her and they drink her fear.

After seeing this book all over instagram and reading some reviews ahead of its launch I just had to get my hands on it so I put in an order with Book Depository and patiently (tore my hair out) awaited its arrival. I got myself the hardback and I’m so glad I did because visually the book is stunning and it goes so well with the beautifully descriptive and detailed narrative of the story. Hats off to Mr. Jay I became so engrossed in this book, I love the maps which help guide you on your way (always important when immersing oneself in a fantasy world).

On a lot of pages there are side notes that offer further detail and helpful information. There is raw energy and emotion in his words, it wont be to everyone’s taste but I found the bad language and wit very relatable and made it more real, there’s a kind of dark humour about it. I’m not afraid to admit that his words left me blushing on occasion, such was the heat of the moment.

I loved this book, I didn’t want to put it down but I also didn’t want it to end so I tried to take my time with it. Once I was finished I was left feeling hungry like the night and shadows.. craving more. This is the first in a trilogy and the wait for the next book will be endless, I can see many rereadings of this in the near future.

This is the first book I have read by Jay Kristoff and I am eager now to read more. Have you read Nevernight, what did you think?

 

One thought on “Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Leave a Reply

