June Round Up 2016

Books I Read:

  • Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
  • Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
  • 11th Hour by James Patterson
  • The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley

I set my myself a goal of 5 books to read for June so I was delighted when I had time to fit in a 6th book in the last week. I read Pride & Prejudice for the very first time, it was slow to start while I adjusted to the style of it but I was surprised to find it quite funny, charming and made me want to read more of her books.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas was an absolute stand out for me, I would even say its the best book I have read this year. After seeing it all over instagram naturally I had to try it for myself. A kind of Beauty & the Beast tale reimagined with fairies and a strong bad ass female lead I was just blown away and couldn’t put it down! There are already too many spoilers out there I don’t want to give anything away so I’ll say no more. I have the second book A Court of Mist & Fury and from what I have heard it’s even better (is that even allowed!!) I’m holding off on reading it til next month and lining up some other good reads to prevent major book hangover.

I truly enjoyed reading Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, I was drawn to this book series by the vintage photographs featured, having followed the Thantos Archive for a few years I have an interest in them and wanted to see where Ransom Riggs was going to go with the story. This book seems to be a bit of a Marmite you either like it or you don’t, not sure how I feel about the upcoming movie now that I have read it.

I love The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare and didn’t think it could get any better, then I read Clockwork Angel the first book in The Infernal Devices series and I think I actually loved it more! It’s a prequel series set in London in 1878 and some of our already favourite characters (namely Magnus Bane) make an appearance, great to see some back story.

Over the years I have dipped in and out of James Patterson’s Womens Murder Club series and having read 10 of them I was happy to come across the 11th, I picked up right where I left off and got to see how Lindsay Boxer and the team are keeping as well as trying to work out the latest murder mystery, great read.

So far everything I read was great, some even better, and then came my bonus read.. I had read a number of great reviews for The Loney but it just didn’t work for me, I found it over all very slow and quite boring. The lack of information meant to create a creepy unsaid space for your head to fill just left me frustrated and bored. Not every book is for everyone and this just wasnt for me.

Book Haul:

Preloved:

  • Cat & Fiddle by Lesley Jorgensen
  • The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner by Stephanie Meyer

TheBookShop.ie:

  • Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkein
  • Snow Blind by P.J. Tracy
  • Kiss The Girls by James Patterson
  • Along Came a Spider by James Patterson
  • Jack & Jill by James Patterson
  • Queen of the Damned by Anne Rice

New Books:

  • The Marble Collector by Cecelia Ahern
  • The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley

 Over all I think it was a good book month, the preloved books I picked up from a local charity shop but thebookshop.ie was recommended by Sharon from BehindGreenEyes and I would recommend it too, 10 books for €20 with free delivery (the girls got a book each too) and they are all second-hand but in great condition and delivery was super quick.

Have you read any of the books in this post, what did you think of them?

4 thoughts on “June Round Up 2016

  1. I’m sorry you didn’t like The Loney, I really liked the creepiness of it, reminded me of the Hammer Horror books! I keep seeing fab reviews of the Sarah J Maas books, must check one out. Thank you for the mention ❤ x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

